(:
 
Freedom

Breath in deeply,
inhale

Exhale

Sweat dripping off the side of my neck.

Dipping in the indent between my shoulder blades.

My hair clinging to my face,
a second skin.




Bouncing on the soles of my feet,

Taking position,
one-step,

two, three.

Run.
My steps are belligerent.
Cool air dancing on my skin.
Arms like wings take flight.

Eyes set on finish, straight ahead.
I bite my lips,
the taste in my mouth is acetic.

Legs light, heave, tired,
carrying my body onward.

Adrenaline,
kicking in,
sprouting awareness.



Rushing past,
everything’s a blur.

I hear a cheer,
one, then two,
then too many,
making me deaf.

Legs bucking,
falling,
standing on my knees.

Arms pounding,
my stomach and body crumpling.
Relief,
finally,
freedom.





Nazma
8/30/2010 07:43:59 am

Suprisingly, this is good.

Reply



Leave a Reply.